Barcelona 3-0 Sevilla (3-2 on agg): Barca through to Copa del Rey final



Martin Braithwaite scored the decisive goal for Barcelona with a diving header

Barcelona overturned a two-goal first-leg deficit as they beat 10-man Sevilla 3-0 after extra time in a Copa del Rey semi-final full of drama and incident.

Martin Braithwaite got the decisive goal, a diving header early on in the additional 30 minutes.

Ousmane Dembele had opened the scoring for Barca, who lost the first leg 2-0.

Lucas Ocampos missed a penalty for Sevilla, who then had Fernando sent off just before Gerard Pique dramatically levelled the tie at 2-2 in added time.

Barca, aiming for a record-extending 31st Copa del Rey win, will face either Athletic Bilbao or Levante in the final, with their last-four tie 1-1 after the first leg in Bilbao.

Preparations for Wednesday’s game were overshadowed by former president Josep Maria Bartomeu being arrested on Monday and the club’s Camp Nou offices being raided in a probe related to allegations of improper management and business corruption.

The club will elect a new leader on Sunday and the three candidates, Joan Laporta, Victor Font and Toni Freixa, were all present in the stands to witness the comeback.

Dembele gave the home side the perfect start but the tie could have turned out very differently had Marc-Andre ter Stegen not saved the penalty from Ocampos, who was himself fouled for the spot kick by Oscar Mingueza.

That set up the dramatic finale, which included Fernando’s dismissal for a foul on Francisco Trincao – and a red card for Sevilla striker Luuk de Jong, who was protesting from the stands after having been substituted.



Formation 3-1-4-2

  • 1ter Stegen
  • 28MinguezaBooked at 67minsSubstituted forFirpoat 78′minutes
  • 3Piqué
  • 15Lenglet
  • 5BusquetsSubstituted forKourouma Kouroumaat 78′minutes
  • 2DestSubstituted forGriezmannat 63′minutes
  • 21de Jong
  • 16GonzálezSubstituted forBraithwaiteat 89′minutes
  • 18Alba
  • 10MessiBooked at 73mins
  • 11DembéléSubstituted forMachado Trincãoat 89′minutesBooked at 119mins


  • 7Griezmann
  • 9Braithwaite
  • 12Puig
  • 13Murara Neto
  • 17Machado Trincão
  • 23Umtiti
  • 24Firpo
  • 26Peña
  • 27Kourouma Kourouma


Formation 4-3-3

  • 1Vaclik
  • 17VidalSubstituted forNavasat 54′minutes
  • 12KoundéBooked at 101mins
  • 20Santos Silva
  • 19AcuñaSubstituted forRekikat 54′minutes
  • 8JordánBooked at 100minsSubstituted forEl Haddadiat 105′minutes
  • 25RegesBooked at 90mins
  • 21TorresSubstituted forOcamposat 62′minutes
  • 7Fernández SaezSubstituted forGómezat 79′minutes
  • 9de JongBooked at 103minsSubstituted forRakiticat 54′minutes
  • 15En-NesyriBooked at 103mins


  • 3Gómez
  • 4Rekik
  • 5Ocampos
  • 6Gudelj
  • 10Rakitic
  • 11El Haddadi
  • 16Navas
  • 24Gómez
  • 31Díaz

José María Sánchez Martínez

Around the BBC iPlayer bannerAround the BBC iPlayer footer


Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here